menu
Productions Tour dates
Spectrum
2020
In collaboration with designer Cocky Eek

[ Update corona-measures October 14th: Spectrum can still take place under the current government regulations. The installation can accommodate 14 individual visitors at a time, and is thoroughly cleaned and ventilated between each performance.]

How intensely can you experience colour? Colour as a phenomenon which you don’t just see, but which totally absorbs… Spectrum is a spatial installation that makes colour tactile and tangible. Escape the mundane. Fall backwards into a black hole and reawaken in an infinite spectrum. An immersive experience which will give you a whole new perspective on everyday life.

How intensely can you experience colour?

Following Blaas and CurveSpectrum completes a triptych centred on white space, each piece created with spatial designer Cocky Eek. In Blaas you crawl through an inflatable balloon; in Curve you enter an endlessly spiralling tunnel. Spectrum starts by asking: how can we make the colour physically tangible? A joint project involving Matthijs Munnik, a light artist with an extraordinary sense of colour, and composer Yannis Kyriakides (Val), who turns the sound composition into a spatial experience.

“An amazing skyscape in a brilliant display of light and sound ”
—Volkskrant

Schweigman& has always touched a universal human chord throughout these past seventeen years. In a world saturated with stimuli and information we risk losing touch with what may be our most important compass: our body. Schweigman&’s work focuses on the senses, perceiving with the entire body and so intensifying our engagement with the world around us.

Accessibility
Spectrum is an installation without performers. Unfortunately  it is not suitable for visitors with serious back- or neck complaints, poor mobility and/or those who experience serious vertigo. Spectrum is however accessible for people with a hearing impairment.

 

Spectrum was shown in 2020 at Afzender Boulevard in Den Bosch (6 – 16 August), at SPRING in Autumn festival in Utrecht (28 okt – 15 nov). More details for 2021 to follow shortly.

Reviews

Credits

2020
concept Boukje Schweigman, Cocky Eek, Matthijs Munnik
directed by Boukje Schweigman
design Cocky Eek
light design Matthijs Munnik
music Yannis Kyriakides
set construction Merijn Versnel, Hein Drost, Guido Bever
technical managment Jurr van Diggele, Marco Steenks
directing assistent Anemone Oostvriesland
production Yola Parie
producer Rachel Feuchtwang
production management Puck Mathot
coördination press & publicity Lonneke Laurant
producing assistant Sanne Olijerhoek
special thanks to Stimuleringsfonds Creatieve Industrie, Fonds Podiumkunsten, Gemeente Utrecht

Tour dates

Wednesday 28 October Spectrum SPRING in Autumn, Utrecht last tickets
Thursday 29 October Spectrum SPRING in Autumn, Utrecht tickets
Friday 30 October Spectrum SPRING in Autumn, Utrecht tickets
Saturday 31 October Spectrum SPRING in Autumn, Utrecht sold-out
Sunday 1 November Spectrum SPRING in Autumn, Utrecht last tickets
Wednesday 4 November Spectrum SPRING in Autumn, Utrecht tickets
Thursday 5 November Spectrum SPRING in Autumn, Utrecht tickets
Friday 6 November Spectrum SPRING in Autumn, Utrecht tickets
Saturday 7 November Spectrum SPRING in Autumn, Utrecht tickets
Sunday 8 November Spectrum SPRING in Autumn, Utrecht tickets
Wednesday 11 November Spectrum SPRING in Autumn, Utrecht tickets
Thursday 12 November Spectrum SPRING in Autumn, Utrecht tickets
Friday 13 November Spectrum SPRING in Autumn, Utrecht tickets
Saturday 14 November Spectrum SPRING in Autumn, Utrecht tickets
Sunday 15 November Spectrum SPRING in Autumn, Utrecht tickets
Monday 21 December Spectrum Le lieu Unique, Nantes , Frankrijk
Tuesday 22 December Spectrum Le lieu Unique, Nantes , Frankrijk
Wednesday 23 December Spectrum Le lieu Unique, Nantes , Frankrijk
Sunday 27 December Spectrum Le lieu Unique, Nantes , Frankrijk
Monday 28 December Spectrum Le lieu Unique, Nantes , Frankrijk
Tuesday 29 December Spectrum Le lieu Unique, Nantes , Frankrijk
Wednesday 30 December Spectrum Le lieu Unique, Nantes , Frankrijk
Thursday 31 December Spectrum Le lieu Unique, Nantes , Frankrijk
Spectrum